Jealous

I am amazed at the lives some people get to live. I get a little jealous. I see people being able to travel all the time, not having to go in debt, making a bunch of money to enjoy life and take care of their problems. It has left a bitter taste in my mouth towards these people.

This isn’t good. I don’t want to dwell on the circumstances of other people’s lives. They will have to answer to God for how they live, just as I will. Focusing on other people will not do anything to make my life better. I don’t see the amount of work people have done to get where they have gotten. I haven’t exhausted all of my options to try and improve the quality of my life. Being bitter feeds into the “poor-me” mentality. Self-pity isn’t a great motivator for change.

Comparing your life to someone else’s can leave you feeling disappointed with your own. Maturity is there when you can compare but not be jealous or bitter  towatd the other person.

Leave a Reply

