Familiarity

Have you heard the saying, “Familiarity breeds contempt?” It is typically used in the situation of being around someone so much that you take that person for granted and can act like a jerk to that person or neglect that person.

But something else I have noticed is that familiarity also “makes” you like something. I listen to some songs from when I was growing up just for the nostalgia factor, even if the songs are not something I would choose to listen to now. There are some songs that I heard so much, that eventually I liked them. You can also keep eating a food and eventually like it. If you knew how much I love coffee, you may be surprised to find out that I used to think it was disgusting. I started drinking it for, I’ll just say, health (bathroom) benefits and used to have to sweeten it so much that it barely tasted like coffee. Now I love it black.

The more you do something, the more you get used to it. I know that seems painfully obvious, but it is something to keep in mind when starting habits that require a lot of discipline at first…

Leave a Reply

