Confession

Something I have been dealing with is my affection towards my own comfort. A big problem with feeling entitlement of whatever source, is that it takes your eyes off of other people’s needs. I have been through and am going through hard times. There for a while I was playing the victim card. I would love to take some time and rest and rejuvenate, but the times don’t call for that, at least not the kind of rest that I desire. There are things I just have to do. I have to go to work to pay my bills. I have to learn to deal with other people in a loving manner. Right now, being around people annoys me. I am impatient with them. As a Christian, I cannot continue in this behavior.

And as a Christian, suffering is a major part of my life. Without suffering there is no endurance and also no comfort to comfort others, from the comfort given by God. Suffering also tests how genuine my faith is, so that it “may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ” (1 Peter 1:7 ESV). I have to learn to deal with suffering, too. It is definitely no fun, but I am trusting God for that comfort!

Leave a Reply

