Entitlement

Everyone does it to some degree – assume she deserves something because she did a certain thing. I see entitlement everywhere in this American culture. I am guilty of it!

When I think of entitlement, I think of people thinking that any suffering is merited some compensation. We must think that the goal of life is to avoid suffering, to avoid discomfort. This kind of attitude breeds complaining.

I have taken notice of my own beliefs and why I do the things I do. I have noticed that I think I deserve some things because I went through something tough. I do believe that life can be enjoyed (I have struggled with believing this) but we should stop thinking we deserve things. Enjoy what you can enjoy. Work hard. Get uncomfortable. Grow and attain new joys.

Leave a Reply

