Happiness is a Sad Song

If I’m not mistaken, the title of this post comes from Charles Schultz, the creator of the Peanuts comic. I remember reading it in a little book when I was younger. I think another line was, “Happiness is a warm puppy.”

Ever since I read that line, “Happiness is a sad song,” I’ve thought about it from time to time. As a teen when I would feel sad or want to feel sad (!) I would listen to sad songs. (Enter emo music.) Is that what Mr. Schultz meant? I know some sad songs can be beautiful, could that be what he meant? I am definitely not wanting to hear sad songs or anything. I am a highly sensitive person. The fact that sad songs exist makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

