Tinker

Have you ever heard of Annie Dillard? I am reading Pilgrim at Tinker Creek and thought I’d share a few quotes. These are just from the beginning.

It could be that God has not absconded but spread, to a fabric of spirit and sense so grand and subtle, so powerful in a new way, that we can only feel blindly of its hem.

We have really only that one light, one source for all power, and yet we must turn away from it by universal decree. Nobody here on the planet seems aware of this strange, powerful taboo, that we all ealk about carefully averting our faces, this way and that, lest our eyes be blasted forever.

I allow the spiders the run of the house. I figure that any predator that hopes to make a living on whatever smaller creatures might blunder into a four-inch square bit of space in the corner of the bathroom where the tub meets the flor, needs every bit of my support.

The first one makes me think about how big and beautiful the God of the Bible is. (I am not sure if she is referring to this God or a more generic god.) I believe God does want to be known and even discovered in a sense. Since he is infinite and I am not, of course I can’t know all the depth of him and all the reasons why he does what he does and can’t see all aspects of his beauty, but I can start with the nature around me and with the Bible.

I like the second quote because I had never thought about how people treat the sun.

The third quote is something I can relate to, because I think the same thing about spiders. I try to avoid killing any bug because I think it’s gross, so I like to support spiders who get rid of other bugs for me. My cats take care of the flies and beetles and palmetto bugs.

Leave a Reply

