O Bento

I thought I would make a blog post about one of my favorite things: bento.

Bento (弁当) is a Japanese packed lunch. (It can be said as Obento [お弁当], which is the honorific way to say it.) Not only people in Japan do it, but all over the world too. Traditionally, foods consisting of rice, veggies, and meat, with maybe a piece of fruit, are packed tightly in a little box. But you can put any foods you like in them. The boxes can be plastic and cutesy to wooden and refined. Looking at boxes and holding them in your hands you wonder if it will hold enough food for you. But it can, because it is packed tightly. Food served on plates can have a lot of space on it which you may carry over in your thinking when looking at a bento box. Packing food tightly helps the food not move around when in transit.

There are so many creative and delicious bento to look at, you should Google search it or Instagram search it. You will have plenty to look at. Here is a site with character bento, a term for bento that has the food in shapes of characters and other cute things.

Ironically, I don’t make them often. I do own a few actual bento boxes but I also use plastic and glass containers.

This site: Just Bento is one of my favorites. Ever. I have her cookbook which is one of my favorite books. Ever.

Leave a Reply

